Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

brakes

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2021, 08:24 AM
Default brakes

Never have used a forum so I am new to this, so here is my problem. I replaced the brakes on my 06 H3, front and back, everything was going good until I got to the right front where the caliper was rusted and one of the pistons was froze and wouldn't budge. So naturally I replaced both calipers and bled the brakes, RR, LR, RF, LF with a vacuum type tool I got from Harbor Freight which worked good. Now the brake pedal is spongy and I have no brakes, I re bled the lines and again nothing, I turned the ignition on without starting the H3, did the back and then the front and still have a spongy pedal. I had a friend come and pump the pedal while I manually bled the lines. The pedal got stiff on the right side but went spongy, had a good stream of fluid coming out before I moved to the left rear. As he pumped the pedal I noticed the was no movement on either the air or the fluid in the drain hose. We then pumped the pedal and I removed the bleeder plug and no fluid came out, I tightened the bleeder plug and did it again and no fluid still. I went to where the brake lines come into the master cylinder and pumped the brakes and I loosened the line to the left rear and no fluid came out. So is the that particular port plugged or is the master cylinder bad, if plugged can I blow it out with minimal air pressure? Plus is there a such a thing as a rebuild kit for the master cylinder, if not where can I get one that is less than 700 bucks.

Old 06-06-2021, 06:52 PM

On the surface it seems you have air in the line. There are some good you tube videos covering this. Also if you use the search feature on this site you will find some clues on what could have gone wrong.

Old 06-06-2021, 09:59 PM