Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

Who is towing what with their H3? 2.0

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 08:34 AM
Banned
Default Who is towing what with their H3? 2.0

and stay in 3rd the entire time,
i stumbled into the closed thread by this name and found the above.
im no tranny expert so im curious. in the h3 4 speed,4 is overdrive right?
if so,a gear is involved to speed up over top gear huh.

so third is actually straight thru?. that should be easier on the tran than 4,,,huh?

Old 09-14-2011, 08:39 AM
Super Moderator

Thank you for starting a fresh new thread. Good Question too.

4 is not a true overdrive, rather it is where the torque converter will fully lock up over 45MPH.

From the Manual 2007.... and the 2008 says the same thing:

"If you have an automatic transmission, you can tow in DRIVE (D). You may want to shift the
transmission to THIRD (3) or, if necessary, a lower gear if the transmission shifts too often
under heavy loads and/or hilly conditions. If you have a manual transmission and you are towing
a trailer, it is better not to use the highest gear."

Last edited by Doc Olds; 09-14-2011 at 08:46 AM.
Old 09-14-2011, 12:24 PM

Interesting. I am looking at towing my car on an open trailer. The boat we have is no problem...but the car + trailer + race tires would be getting kinda close to 4500.

Old 09-14-2011, 06:33 PM
rsc