Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

Radio (replace or not)?

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2019, 08:10 AM
wtl
Question Radio (replace or not)?

I have the Monsoon system in a 2006 I've just purchased, and I'm impressed with the sound. (Although I'm a musician, I'm not an audiophile, and it sounds really good compared to most stock systems I've had before.)

I've been wrestling with leaving the radio as is or replacing it. Honestly if I had a 3.5mm line in I'd probably leave it. I like the dark amber coloring of all the dash/radio lights at night and am not totally sure I want to stick a big LCD in there. Either way I go, I have some questions I'd like to ask of more experienced/longer term owners:

If I leave the radio

I absolutely would need a line in, and it seems like Schwarttzy is still selling his mod. I would combine it with something like
this this
for a flush mount to the center console. Two questions though:

1. I have OnStar but not sure about XM. Pressing the band button on the radio cycles between two FM and one AM group, nothing else. Would XM have to be enabled to show up or does this mean I don't have it? Seems like XM is required for the mod.

2. If I were to be able to use Schwarttzy's mod, is there anywhere in the center console or on the stock radio to power the USB port on the flush mount? If not I'd probably just look for a flush mount option without the USB. Just figure I could charge my phone with the same flush mount if I could power the USB side of it.

If I replace the radio

I'd probably go with the Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX and pair it with a similar flush mount as above with USB and HDMI (like
this this
). My questions about this setup are: