Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

LSA/6L90 Alpha swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2017, 12:34 PM
Default LSA/6L90 Alpha swap

I'm getting ready to start building my brothers H3 Alpha and I have some questions for you guys.

First off I'd like to say that I'm not new to swapping engines and I've done a lot of research so far but can't seem to find some information. I do realize that this is going to be a huge project, and will cost a lot of money so no need to send out the warnings.

I'm building the Alpha instead of selling it and buying an I-5 basically because I don't want to deal with the headache of it. Plus the paint matches his Harley and the leather is in really good shape.

The reason behind going LSA instead of LS3. I've been doing the research for this project for about 6 months. I want this to be a torquey fun to drive engine and since I can guy a low mileage LSA pull out for about the same amount of money as a crate LS3 I figured why not. Since I won't have a shop install the engine I wouldn't be able to have the warranty.

I'm still trying to figure out if I will run the 6L80 or 6L90 (Really haven't got the chance to measure around and see how short the driveline would end up with the 90) but I want the 6 speed and don't want to be going through 4L65s every other year. I will be keeping it DS drop for the transfer case for the upcoming axle swap. Since it will be a drivers side drop it will be easier to get a HP housing.

My questions are:

Is there any demand for an Alpha engine/trans/transfercase?
I know that the Alphas have a steel diff housing for the front so are those also desirable?