Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

4 wheel drive

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2021, 11:13 AM
Default 4 wheel drive

I’m taking the Hummer off roading this weekend? Any advice.never done it before. I tried to press the 4 up bottom and that seems to work but when I press 4 down. The lights flashes but it won’t go solid. Anyone know what’s going on?

Old 11-03-2021, 11:55 AM

you need to be in neutral before pushing the button. if it still happens then the selector motor or shift fork on the transfer case have issues. could also be dirty connections on the selector servo motor plug on the transfer case.

Old 11-03-2021, 12:13 PM

As for general advice, I am also very new to off-roading. Go with, or join up, with someone else who is experienced. Does not need to be a friend; my experience is the people generally out there are very willing to help others get started. You'll want some extra eyes on to make sure you don't get yourself in a regrettable situation.

Also, bring a first aid kit, water, food, tools, tow rope, and a shovel. Extra socks/clothes if there is a chance you'll get wet. Always a chance you'll be out there a while waiting for a rescue! (Let's hope not though!).

I think you'll have fun. I had fun my first time out as well.

Ryan

Old 11-03-2021, 12:44 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by Rogcapital
I’m taking the Hummer off roading this weekend? Any advice.never done it before. I tried to press the 4 up bottom and that seems to work but when I press 4 down. The lights flashes but it won’t go solid. Anyone know what’s going on?
READ the Owner's Manual. It tells you how to operate your vehicle. If you do not have one, they are online free for the reading. If you read it, you would know your H3 is always in 4WD, the T Case control buttons are for Hi and Low Lock. It answers your question about Low Lock: