Hummer H2 For those who like a little more gleam to their Hummer, the H2 offers a similar rugged look as the H1, but as a lower cost, and with more added features, making it almost a massive luxury SUV.

Active Fuel Management For H2

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2011, 03:53 PM
Default Active Fuel Management For H2

I am a newbie with a 2005 H2 (Lemon Square). I searched the forums for this topic but haven't seen it. Forgive me if it is covered under a different thread.

Is it possible to program the H2 engine for Active Fuel Management? I have seen that suggested on other Hummer forums but there isn't much info.

Thanks in advance for the guidance.

Old 04-04-2011, 02:47 PM

hey can you explain what this is all about?

Old 08-11-2017, 01:43 PM
Default Active fuel management 2007 H2 Lux Special edition

Looking for info on active fuel management. I saw an earlier post with no answers except someone thinking it was traction control.
I moved feom a yukon denali xl to the H2 amd am missing the 4 cyl. Drop down on easier roads. Anyone swap out engines or know if the computer modules in the H2 can accommodate this? I understand its lifters and ports so not just an easy swap. Maybe top end only? i currently get 12-13 mpg and plan a tune but thought this might be a good thing to be educated on first.
any help is appreciated.
(I do roughly 60k a year in miles so its important)

thanks in advance!
Penny

Old 08-11-2017, 02:27 PM

It is possible to swap VVT onto GM LS engines. You can start here for info:

GM's Variable Valve Timing System Performance Test - Hot Rod Network

I have no clue how much the electronics and intake system would be.

It were me I'd look for a better stock style cam and a mail order tune or live tune if you have the know how. 12-13 mpg is not bad for our trucks. Keep in mind the H2 weighs 2000 or so pounds more than a Tahoe so you can't expect the same mileage, not to mention it has the same drag as a vertical piece of plywood.

Tim