Hummer H1 The original Hummer, which brought the Hummer look to the public eye during Desert Storm, with the addition of some features that make the H1 more of a street vehicle and less of a Army truck

CTIS question

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 05:21 AM
Question CTIS question

Hello I’ve got a ‘99 H1 and I’m wanting to unhook the CTIS semi permanently until I’ve got time to rebuild system. Can someone please tell me in detail (I’m not a mechanic at all but trying to learn) what exactly needs to be done to safely drive my hummer without the CTIS connected and exactly what I’d need to do to disconnect it. Thanks so much in advance.

Old 11-09-2017, 07:25 AM

Disconnect the air lines at the wheel valves from the hub using a 3/4" wrench. Install plug in hole in hub with 1/4" pipe plug. Remove wheels. Buy new wheels and install. For the amount you're going to spend on new tires and wheels you could probably just repair the CTIS system air leaks.

Old 11-09-2017, 09:39 AM

Thanks for the response Ian. I’d read a post that was poorly explained but gave me the impression that the system could be unhooked, capped and wheels and tires could be driven as they are until the system could be fixed. Unfortunately I’d ignored the leak and used the compressor until now it doesn’t work, so I’d have to replace the compressor, lines, and all of the ctis fittings in the wheel and I’m just not capable of doing all of that. Was hoping to find someone (mechanic) who could replace for me but I’m in middle TN and not having any luck doing that. At this point I’m not sure I’d fix the system as it’s given me problems since the day the Hummer was purchased. Any help or other advice would be much appreciated.
Chad

Old 11-09-2017, 09:55 AM

Hey Chad. Give me a call i can explain a lot better not typing it all out.

Old 11-10-2017, 04:31 AM

That's correct you can just disconnect each tire and keep driving if the main CTIS system is leaking or not working.