PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New lifters after p0300 and p1175 ??

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2016, 02:49 PM
Default New lifters after p0300 and p1175 ??

I recently got a 2008 hummer h3 alpha. As of yesterday it started making a rattling sound in the engine and gave a p0300 along with a p1175 code. The oil also showed 7.2% after driving for a while.
Left it at the dealer today since i had a 60 day warranty.
They said the lifters at passenger side bank need replace and quote a $1600 bill.
Iv read around in this forum and elsewhere, that this problem is usually not that severe as to cause a replace. Im not sure if i should go ahead with what the dealer says.

Old 10-14-2016, 09:48 PM

Well if it's under warranty then have them do it if it not going to cost you anything. I had a rattle on my 2006 and it was the catalytic converter. $1600 seems like a lot to me but I'm not a mechanic. I'd get a second opinion from a non dealership unless like I said it won't cost you and they will eat the cost due to the warranty. Good luck!

Old 10-14-2016, 10:13 PM

Originally Posted by Gomer
Well if it's under warranty then have them do it if it not going to cost you anything. I had a rattle on my 2006 and it was the catalytic converter. $1600 seems like a lot to me but I'm not a mechanic. I'd get a second opinion from a non dealership unless like I said it won't cost you and they will eat the cost due to the warranty. Good luck!
Its not a full warranty so im gonna end up paying $400 while the rest goes under warranty

Old 10-17-2016, 01:59 AM

Maybe get a second option first from a non dealer. If they say same thing then hey $400 is better than $1600 and at least you know those will be new. However dealers are known to come back and give ya more "bad" news when they start digging. So make sure they know what the problem is before they tear into it. My opinion anyway. Good luck!!