Hummer H3 For the Hummer driver who wants the rugged look and off road capabilities of the Hummer, but in a smaller size and with a more fuel economy friendly engine.

Encoder/ actuator motor replacement

Old 06-06-2019, 05:35 PM
Default Encoder/ actuator motor replacement

Does the encoder/actuator motor for the four-wheel-drive transfer case need to be programmed or is there any special way to install the motor thanks in advance

Old 06-07-2019, 08:59 AM

No Programming, make sure both the encoder and Tcase are in 4HI unlocked before mating them.

Old 06-07-2019, 03:50 PM

Sorry I’m new to the hummer what do you mean by 4 high unlock right now it currently won’t move out of that standard all wheel drive mode when I push the for high button it just flashes if I reset it for the code reader it will let me put it in if I’m in park

Old 06-08-2019, 08:21 AM

I appreciate the answer Tainter I just also read about putting the transmission in neutral so I’m just getting mixed answers

Old 06-10-2019, 09:27 AM

Why the Funk would you need the transmission in neutral!!!!
I read about some guy with a spinning spider monkey on his dick but I used "common scene" and did not do that either.

The transmission is an independent entity of the transfer case. Set the Tcase control to 4 HI unlocked, turn off truck, disconnect battery, block at least 2 opposite tires, crawl under the H3, remove the wire connector to the encoder, remove 3 bolts on the encoder, replace the old encoder with new encoder. install 3 bolts back into the encoder, reinstall the harness, reconnect battery, turn key forward, test the new encoder by switching from 4 HI unlocked to 4 Hi Locked several times.

If you are not sure what 4 HI unlocked is you shouldn't be replacing Sheet on your H3.

If you can NOT get out of 4 HI unlocked, it's probably not the encoder. It's going to be a shift fork issue 90% of the time.

Last edited by TAINTER; 06-10-2019 at 10:23 AM.
Old 06-12-2019, 10:13 AM