PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking @ buying a H3 THOUGHTS PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2013, 05:47 PM
Default Looking @ buying a H3 THOUGHTS PLEASE

I have found a nice 2006 H3 for sale and am thinking of buying it. It has 140,000 mile on it. Here is where your thoughts come into play. The salesman says when below a 1/4 tank of gas it idles rough and check engine light blinks. My question is this.. Is it one that may be getting ready to have head problems? And yes the vin number does fall into the ones that had head problems. Or is this just another problem? YOUR THOUGHTS PLEASE.

Old 04-01-2013, 02:52 PM

I'm no mechanic and I don't have a lot of experience working on vehicles, so with that caveat in mind, I think it could be a fuel pump issue. It sounds like there's not enough pressure once the fuel drops below a certain amount and the pump is struggling to keep up with the demand. It could just need to be adjusted or it could be going bad or it could have nothing to do with it. lol

With that being said, I shy away from buying vehicles that have known pre-existing problems. I would keep looking if it was me.

Old 04-01-2013, 06:31 PM

Thanks H3DONIST I kinda feel same way on shying away from known problems. It seems to me there is alot of H3's out there so I may keep looking. Thanks for the response....

Old 04-01-2013, 08:38 PM

A good reputable dealership makes sure all issues are taken care of before ever putting a vehicle out on the lot.

if it were mine I would be checking fuel pressure, replacing the fuel filter, check fuel pump..... But I wouldn't want to be faced with these issues unless the price was very cheap, since it hasn't even been diagnosed yet.

Just bad business to me.

Old 04-01-2013, 09:12 PM