PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

07 H3 Shakes on highway at 65+ mph, normal?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2011, 07:30 PM
Default 07 H3 Shakes on highway at 65+ mph, normal?

Hi, Hummer newbie here, sorry in advance for what is probably a dumb question.

We just bought a 2007 H3 with 57k miles. Very pleased with it except we notice that it shimmies/shakes a little once we get it above 65 mph or so. The tires are Good Year Wranglers and look to have about 1/2 of their life left. Is this a common characteristic of the H3's drive at higher speeds? Or should I complain to the dealer that we want this looked at / fixed? We just picked it up today and have no recent experience with 4 wheel drives, so not sure what to think. Thanks for any help and/or opinions.

Mark

Old 06-25-2011, 07:41 PM

That shouldn't be happening, I have 35" mud tires and it rides like a luxury vehicle on the freeway.

Old 06-26-2011, 03:13 AM

Definitely not normal. Of the many used vehicles i've purchased I don't think the previous owner or dealership have maintained the tires or alignment in who knows how long before I purchased it. Try a balance and rotation of the, and possibly an alignment. There's another thread within the last week about a similar issue, possibly a bent drive shaft. But in my experience the previous owner probably let some maintenance slide well before you purchased it and the dealership probably didn't do much. I had bad tires, alignment, and a bad rear shock at 38k when I bought mine.

Old 06-26-2011, 06:06 AM

Thank you for the replies. If it is something as simple as a balance and/or alignment, should the dealer (Carmax) take care of this for free or am I on my own? I just bought it Saturday (June 25th), so I have until Thursday to back out of the deal with no penalty. Not sure I'd back out just for this issue, but it would be nice if they'd take care of me!

Mark