PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tires and rims

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2006, 07:07 PM
Default Tires and rims

Hello everyone!

Need a little advice. I have a '99 H1. I'm looking to put new tires on it (something with a little more offroad capability). I looked into the Goodyear MTR but they didn't have it in my size. They had the Goodyear MTA but it was over $650 each. This is the first time I had to replace the tires so I'm very new at this. My questions are: Are there any other comparable tires with the Goodyear MTA that are less expensive? It seems that finding tires particular to my size is hard to get hold of (maybe because they are all being shipped to Iraq, who knows), but if its that difficult to get a hold of in general, should I consider maybe changing my rim size to something that I can find tires more readily and for a lot less?
Also, I'm a bit hesitant to go anywhere else besides the hummer dealership, say for example, an off-road custom shop. Only because I tried to take my hummer to a regular shop to get my A/C looked at and they completely messed it up. I ended up having to take it to the dealership (which is always more expensive), but what can I do? I called a few of these off-road places up and I can tell that they've never worked on an H1. Anyone think that I should still give them a try with my tires? Give me your opinions. Also, is there anything special I should ask or need to know about replacing the tires on an H1 besides the CTIS system? I did a quick call to my local Discount tire place and they said that they wouldn't touch it. Anyway, thanks for reading and any/all advice is appreciated.

btw, it's been awhile since i've been on this? hummer forum. Not sure if it's the same one...but my old link was bad and now my previous account didn't work...did the forum change?

mike

Old 02-20-2006, 07:31 PM
Default RE: Tires and rims