PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!

Replacing the PMD--Advice please!

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 01:19 PM
Default Replacing the PMD--Advice please!

Hi, it's my first time on this forum, but I've been reading up on some of the great threads you guys have here.I'm a relatively new H1 owner so I'm hoping to rely oneveryone's experience. From what I've read on the forum, it seems that I need to replace my PMD and install a remote mount PMD.I've tried to read all the topicsthat I could find on PMDs and stallingH1s, but I'm still a littlelost. If you're experienced with installing this set up, could you give me advice?

Specifically, which PMD kit should I buy? I've tried looking online and I see kits thatinclude the PMD such as the one from Predator and the one from Heath Diesel. However, there are also kits that require me to buy the PMD separately. Which is the best option? IfI buy the kit separately, where do I buy a PMD and which one is the best?My goal is reliability--I'm tired of having my H1 stop in the middle of the road and having to wait until it will start up again.The last time that happened, the truckdied completely and wouldn't start up againand I had to get it towed home. For such an awesome carto break down in the middle of the road was quite embarrasing!

Ifwere to switch to a remote mount set-up, would I have to remove the old PMD installed at thefuel injectorpump?Would this require taking apart thefuelinjector andsomeone with mechanic experience?

Any tips would be appreciated. I look forward to your replies!

Old 04-09-2008, 01:32 PM
Default RE: Replacing the PMD--Advice please!