PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need some electrical advice...Please

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 01:55 PM
Default I need some electrical advice...Please

Hey guys,
I need some electrical help.....Please. First off I am a wiring novice on newer style vehicles. I have a 1997 KSC2 2 door H1. I recently moved my batteries from the engine bay to one of the storage areas (rear seat cavity) on the passenger rear side. I am sure some of you will question my moving of the batteries but it seemed simple and straightforward enough. Although possibly regretting it now, my original reasons were many including a battery box that was toast, successful water proofing of my storage space, etc….. My truck does have some po modifications that have me confused and hopefully someone on here will be able to set me straight.
When I got the truck, an additional solenoid was being used to run the winch. I opted to remove the current winch wiring (going to add another later) and was left with this additional solenoid along with a lot of confusion. I am not sure if the solenoid needs to remain (there is one on the starter) and if not where do the wires on the I and S stubs go now? The truck started and ran fine before but once the batteries were moved….. now when I press the starter button I get nothing. Turning the ignition still causes the fuel pump to run, dash lights up, all interior lights etc work, headlights work, just no cranking at the starter.
All of this is further compounded by the po bypassing the ignition switch and now using a push starter button. Basically the truck must be switched on with the key (this turns the glow plugs, fuel pump, etc…. on) then actually cranked with the push button.
My batteries are not the newest but still charge fully and even if old I would have expected them to at least make it slowly turn over.