Audio Visual/Interior Modifications Have questions or ideas for your sound system or interior trim? Talk about it here!

aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

  #1  
Old 11-26-2007, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 319
Default aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

does an aftermarket head unit like a touch screen work with onstar? just wondering.

if not how will it?

can i install and just cancel onstar.. how does this work?

 
  #2  
Old 11-26-2007, 11:03 PM
HummBob's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,711
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

You can do EITHER ONE!!!

You can just NOT USE OnStar or you can get a PAC interface. It all depends IF you keep the factory amp etc. as to which one you need:

http://www.pac-audio.com/products/pr...ar%20Interface

I think mine was the OS-2 since I replaced EVERYTHING from HU, amp and speakers!!!
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-2007, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 319
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

whT DO YOU MEAN KEEP FACTORY AMP ETC.. I DONT NEED TO CORRECT?

i do not have monsoon, i just have a small aftermarket sub and amp. so i can just plug a new head unit in and go? just cancel onstar?
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:37 PM
HummBob's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,711
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

ORIGINAL: JeepeaterH3

whT DO YOU MEAN KEEP FACTORY AMP ETC.. I DONT NEED TO CORRECT?

i do not have monsoon, i just have a small aftermarket sub and amp. so i can just plug a new head unit in and go? just cancel onstar?
TRUE!!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-2007, 05:04 AM
hilljob26's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 2,077
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

i thought you still needed a special harness for the door rings and such
 
  #6  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 145
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

Get a Pac-os2
 
  #7  
Old 11-28-2007, 02:14 PM
HummBob's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,711
Default RE: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?

ORIGINAL: hilljob26

i thought you still needed a special harness for the door rings and such
Yeah, you do.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Katphish
Hummer H3
1
09-26-2011 05:01 AM
Tram
Hummer H3
11
07-21-2011 12:08 PM
Todd
Hummer H1
7
06-17-2008 08:11 AM
saywhat
Audio Visual/Interior Modifications
20
09-20-2007 01:00 PM
Terminator
Sights N Sounds
11
05-02-2007 11:23 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: aftermarket head unit work with onstar?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.