PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Purchase advice please

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 06:57 PM
Default Purchase advice please

Hello all,

I'm a newb to hummers but i went and test drove one today and when i put it in to 4 low the engine would rev and it would hardly move and seemed like it had no torque at all, is this normal? My last truck was a chevy 4x4 and you could def tell when it was in 4 low especially by turning the wheels far left or right, it would pull and jump like crazy. Is there anything i should look for to ensure the 4x4 is working properly?

Also, is there anything i should look for before buying? Thank you in advance for any advice!

Old 07-25-2016, 10:49 AM
Super Moderator

You did not provide us with the year or model you drove so it would be hard to do much in response but guess.

If you drove an I5 powered Adventure, in Low Lock the T Case will act like you describe, the truck is not going anywhere fast because it has significantly more gear than a FS Chevy 4X4.

Old 07-25-2016, 11:55 AM

Doc Olds,

Thanks for the info and sorry I forgot to mention the year and model. It was a 06 I5 Adventure.

If there is anything wrong with the 4 wheel drive will it throw a check engine light or anything and do you have any tips on how to inspect the operation of the trans and T Case before purchase?

Thanks

Old 07-25-2016, 12:02 PM

What does that mean, engine would rev and it would hardly move? You mean, it drove around real slow? 4-lo with the Adventure package (lockers and 4:1 TC) is really low geared but you can drive around, it will shift gears, and it should feel like it has gobs of torque. It will accelerate very slowly as it winds up through gears, but you should be able to get up to around 20mph if it's working right. Realistically, if you're doing 20mph you probably want to be in 4-hi anyway, but that's a different topic.

Old 07-25-2016, 12:34 PM