Go Back   Hummer Forums - Enthusiast Forum for Hummer Owners > Hummer Lineup > Hummer H3
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Hummer Forums - Enthusiast Forum for Hummer Owners.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-09-2010, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default programming new keyless remote

Im trying to find instructions how to program a new remote, any help is appreciated!!
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Hummerforums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2010, 02:11 PM
JGBB04's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 291
Default

needs to be done at the dealer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default Don't know if this will work...

But I found it on www.ehow.com

Instructions
  1. Step 1
    Put your key in the ignition of your vehicle and make sure all of the doors and the trunk are closed before you get in your vehicle. Do not turn your car on.
  2. Step 2
    Hold the unlock button on your driver door and turn your key two clicks to the right. Your car will not be started, but it will be in the "On" position. Continue holding the "Unlock" button.
  3. Step 3
    Turn your key to the left so your car is off, and then turn it on and off one more time, all while holding the unlock button. The horn will then honk, and your doors will all lock, which will signify that the programming mode is active and you can release the "Unlock" button.
  4. Step 4
    Press and hold both the "Unlock" and "Lock" buttons on your keyless remote. Hold the buttons for between 10 and 20 seconds. Once the locks have again clicked on the car, you can release the buttons.
  5. Step 5
    Turn you key into the "On" position again and then turn it off. Your car's horn will once again activate, signifying that the programming mode has ended.
  6. Step 6
    Remove your key and test your keyless remote to see if the programming mode has worked.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2010, 09:57 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,654
Default then go to dealer,THE ONLY WAY!

25$,,,been there, go screwed by liars at ,,keyless remote.

you can sit there all day turning the key and pushing buttons,,ha ha, or pay attention,,,AND the dealer,,,25$

trust

tom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2010, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152
Default not for the H3..

From what I understand, this works for the H2, not the H3. We did this with our H2 and it worked fine. But every dealer and even the website for the replacement keys and remotes state the H3 has to be done at the dealer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2010, 07:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

What about all these $29 to $39 remotes, are they OK?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2010, 09:41 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,654
Default its only money

MY DEALER DIDNT CARE WHAT I HAD , THEY JUST PROG AND CHARGE $25

thats all,,i suppose if u buy theirs for 69 ea it might be free prog!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2010, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK (formerly Chavlamabad, Arabia)
Posts: 110
Default

For the H3 this HAS to be done at the dealer. Note that when you reprogramme one key, you have to redo them all as the code within the vehicle is reset.

The H2 can be reprogrammed at home.

I bought a used keyfob off ebay (the US seller had made clear that it had to be programmed by a dealer).

I took my existing keyfob plus the new one to the dealer here in Dubai. The guy at the dealer seemed to be under the impression that you couldn't reprogramme one that had previously been used on another vehicle, but I asked him to try. Perhaps he just wanted to sell me a new one at an inflated price?

Anyway, both fobs were reprogrammed and work fine - and it cost only about 130 dirhams (about USD30). The guy told me the previously used fob might "lose" its programming, but that hasn't happened, and seems unlikely to me.

The metal key itself for the H3 has no chip so can be cut by a normal keycutting store.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2010, 09:12 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks. As soon as I get my new remotes I guess I'm off to the dealer. I had 2 keys cut at Ace Hardware and they work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-10-2010, 02:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Default

My car guru friend has a Tech II, we spent an hour trying to program 2 fobs. One would work and then when you programmed the 2nd one it would work and the 1st one would not work, . This seesaw battle went on for a while and we ended up with only one fob programmed. Is it a fob thing? or something else????
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 02:47 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
cover, fob, h1, h3, hummer, key, keyfab, keyless, metal, modes, program, programming, register, remote, reprogram


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
Hummer Off-Road
Bumper Winches at CARiD
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.