PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!

Monsoon System Upgrade

Old 05-11-2011, 04:03 PM
Default Monsoon System Upgrade

I came across a really good deal on a Monsoon amp and sub w/enclosure. I currently have the stock system but would love to add the sub into the mix. A few questions:
  • Does the monsoon amp drive the speakers also or just the sub?
  • If it drives the speakers is it possible (w/relative ease) to hook up my current stock speakers to the amp and my stock radio?
  • If it doesn't drive the speaker same question as above.
Also, it doesn't come w/a harness so am I going to have a major problem trying to find a harness that goes from the amp to the radio or hooking it up? I'm new to all this and am learning.

- Jason

Old 05-11-2011, 04:22 PM

Originally Posted by jvorpahl
  • Does the monsoon amp drive the speakers also or just the sub?
The amp is 200W RMS, 100W to the sub, and 25W to each door.

• If it drives the speakers is it possible (w/relative ease) to hook up my current stock speakers to the amp and my stock radio?
Couldn't tell you for certain, I know the wiring harnesses are different for the base and monsoon system. What I can tell you for certain is no, it would not be with relative ease.

Also, it doesn't come w/a harness so am I going to have a major problem trying to find a harness that goes from the amp to the radio or hooking it up?
It would most likely be almost impossible to find the factory harness unless you wanted to order OEM direct, and the harness for the stereo runs in one big electrical harness for basically all the other systems in the truck. I wouldn't even want to get into that.

You would be much happier and less frustrated finding a nice 5 channel amp, and getting your own sub and enclosure. For more specifics on replacing your door speakers look for my posts in the interior/exterior mods forum.

Old 05-11-2011, 05:04 PM
Banned