PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!

Belts won't stop Squealling - going CRAZY

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 09:46 AM
Angry Belts won't stop Squealling - going CRAZY

It is embarrassing to drive a truck that squeals like a greased pick in heat at the county fair.

2005 H2
I am not a mechanic. The mechanic says that he has tried everything.

After each of the below fixes, the belts would stop squeal for a week and then return.

List in order of repairs:
New belts
New belts 1 size smaller
Replace tensioner
Belts check again
Replaced water pump - broke
Belts checked again
Replaced altenator - would only fail at higher rpm
Belt dressing
Cleaned belts/pulleys and removing dressings - did not fix the squeal

After the alternator fix the belts would only squeal when accelerating from high speed, now the squealing occurs with touching the gas pedal.

Note: about to have a leaking brake reservoir replaced, other than that no other leaks or known problems.

The mechanic hand cranks to check bearings, says they are okay.
How important is it to use laser to check alignment, I have a feeling that he does not.

Old 08-09-2012, 12:48 PM

Id take off the AC belt to isolate it from the main belt.

Maybe its time to go to a different repair shop... They've made a good amount of money blindly replacing components so far.

Old 08-10-2012, 08:33 AM

I believe prestone makes a belt squeel spray, I found it at AutoZone. There is a generic spray also

Old 09-10-2012, 10:58 PM

Gatorback belts should do the trick......

Old 09-11-2012, 11:33 AM

Mine have squeeked before, every time they do I check the pulleys and tensioner. every time it has been a bad tensioner or pulley seizing up and I've fixed it. Makes me suspect the shop that is doing your work.

Old 09-12-2012, 11:54 AM