PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds Sell/Trade your stuff for free! NO COMMERCIAL POSTS!

Subwoofer

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2006, 11:02 PM
Default Subwoofer

I have a 2006 H2 with the CD/Navagation system combo deck and Bose speakers. I want to add a small powered sub for some more bass. Where do I connect the line inputs from the sub to? I tried tapping into the rear speaker wires and that didn't work. Is there a factory amp somewhere I could connect to with RCA's?

Old 11-27-2006, 03:22 PM
Default RE: Subwoofer

If anywhere, behind the glove box .. BLOWS systems tend to have em there, at least what I've seen on Avalanches ... it was a minor nightmare to get to and not sure how useable it is ... Anyone else care to chime in here!? I haven't dug this deep on the H2 yet ...

Old 11-27-2006, 05:59 PM

don't know about the h2 specifically but I was an audio/video installer for 6 years. Generally speaking if you have a stock amplified system but no rear subwoofer in the cargo area then you have nothing more than a 4 channel amplified door speaker system. Tapping into that power to run a subwoofer will sound terrible for a few different reasons. First off the amp is going to your doors so it's obviosly crossovered to high/mid range...or full range...either of which is NOT what you want for a sub, you need a signal crossovered to low range. Second by adding another channel you ill be dropping the available power to your current 4 channel setup and also lowering the ohm value at the amp...not a good thing especially on cheap *** stock amps.

Your best bet is to run another amp and dedicate it to your sub.

Old 11-27-2006, 06:24 PM

the H2 has a built in, powered sub (under the center console). it sucks, but it's there. there are no RCA connections on the stock stereo system, so the best option would be a complete rip 'n replace.

Old 11-27-2006, 06:29 PM